The Republic of the Congo, also known as Congo-Brazzaville or Congo is located in the central part of sub-Saharan Africa, along the Equator. It has a short Atlantic coast. The capital, Brazzaville, is located on the Congo River, in the south of the country. The earliest inhabitants of the area were Pygmy peoples.

They were largely replaced and absorbed by Bantu tribes during Bantu expansions. Several Bantu kingdoms (notably those of the Kongo, the Loango, and the Teke) built trade links leading into the Congo River basin.

Since the country is located on the Equator, the climate is consistent year-round, with the average day temperature being a humid 24 °C and nights generally between 16-21 °C. The average yearly rainfall ranges from 1,100 millimetres in south in the Niari valley to over 2,000 millimetres in central parts of the county.

The dry season is from June to August. This is another paradise for the biodiversity. It is the second largest tropical rainforest coverage in Africa with around 22,471,000 hectares. It is the home to around 600 species of birds, 166 mammals and 58 amphibians.

Our picks in Congo are the Odzala and Nouabalé-Ndoki National Parks. We offer you activities such as jungle sfari, birding, gorillas tracking and cultural expeditions with the pygmies communities.