Democratic Republic of Congo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo often referred to as DR Congo is the third largest country by area in Africa. The country enjoys access to the ocean with the roughly nine-kilometer wide mouth of the Congo River which opens into the Gulf of Guinea. The name "Congo" (meaning "hunter") is coined after the Bakongo ethnic group who live in the Congo River basin. This area is surrounded by plateaus merging into savannas in the south and southwest, by mountainous terraces in the west, and dense grasslands extending beyond the Congo River in the north.

The annual rainfall can total upwards of 2000 mm in some places. Nice glaciated mountains are found in the extreme eastern region and The rainforests of the Democratic Republic of the Congo contain great biodiversity, including many rare and endemic species, such as both species of chimpanzees. The common chimpanzee and the bonobo (also known as the Pygmy Chimpanzee), mountain gorilla, okapi and white rhino.

In near future, we shall drive you through out Lomako Yokolala faunal reserve, ipuru and the Lake Tumba surroundings and their marvelous biodiversity that harbors a great variety of species among which the endemic bonobo considered as highly endangered.

For more specific information concerning these future destinations, please contact us.